Scalabilty Analysis of Parallel Algorithms for the Solution of Systems of Ordinary Differential Equations

Project start: 2000, Project end: 2006

Funded by: DFG

Project Participants

Project Manager

Prof. Dr. Thomas Rauber

Project Staff

PD Dr. Matthias Korch

External Partners

Prof. Dr. Gudula Rünger, TU Chemnitz

Project Description

The target of our project is the analysis of existing and the design of new parallel algorithms for the solution of systems of ordinary differential equations and their portable and efficient implementation on modern parallel computers. The analysis does not consider the numerical properties of the underlying methods, but concentrates on the analysis of locality and scalability properties of the resulting parallel algorithms for large numbers of processors.

In doing so, the influence of the three types of parallelism available, data parallelism, task parallelism, and parallelism on the instruction level, and their interactions are to be investigated in particular. Special attention is turned on the investigation of the locality behavior of the solution methods under consideration and their abilities to exploit existing memory hierarchies. Among other things, we are interested in how far an improvement of the scalabilty and locality properties can be obtained by a reordering of the instructions.

As target systems, we consider distributed memory machines as well as machines with a shared main memory. To verify the propositions of the analysis, several variants of the investigated algorithms have to be implemented. On systems with distributed memory, we use MPI, because the group concept of MPI allows for a simple and efficient realization of task parallelism. In implementations for systems with a shared address space, we use a thread library. As programming languages, C and Java are employed.

University of Bayreuth -

Skalierbarkeitsanalyse von parallelen Algorithmen zur Lösung von gewöhnlichen Differentialgleichungssystemen

Projektstart: 2000, Projektende: 2006

Geldgeber: DFG

Projektbeteiligte

Projektleiter

Prof. Dr. Thomas Rauber

Projektmitarbeiter

PD Dr. Matthias Korch

Externe Partner

Prof. Dr. Gudula Rünger, TU Chemnitz

Projektbeschreibung

Ziel des Projektes ist die Analyse existierender und der Entwurf neuer paralleler Algorithmen zur Lösung von gewöhnlichen Differentialgleichungssystemen sowie deren portable und effiziente Implementierung auf modernen Parallelrechnern. Die Analyse beschäftigt sich nicht mit den numerischen Eigenschaften der zugrundeliegenden Verfahren, sondern konzentriert sich auf die Analyse der Lokalitätseigenschaften und der Skalierbarkeit der resultierenden parallelen Algorithmen für eine große Anzahl von Prozessoren.

Dabei soll insbesondere der Einfluß der drei verfügbaren Parallelitätsarten Datenparallelität, Taskparallelität und Parallelität auf Instruktionseben und deren Wechselwirkungen untersucht werden. Besonderes Augenmerk liegt auch auf der Untersuchung des Lokalitätsverhaltens der betrachteten Lösungsverfahren und deren Fähigkeiten zur Ausnutzung vorhandener Speicherhierarchien. Interessant ist dabei u.a., inwiefern durch eine Umordnung der Instruktionen eine Verbesserung der Parallelitäts- und Lokalitätseigenschaften erreicht werden kann.

Als Zielsysteme werden sowohl Rechner mit verteiltem als auch mit gemeinsamem Hauptspeicher betrachtet. Zur Verifikation der Aussagen der Analyse müssen die untersuchten Algorithmen in mehreren Varianten implementiert werden. Für Rechner mit verteiltem Speicher wird dabei MPI verwendet, da das Gruppenkonzept von MPI eine einfache und effiziente Realisierung von Taskparallelität gestattet. Für Implementierungen auf Rechnern mit gemeinsamem Adreßraum wird eine Thread-Bibliothek verwendet. Als Programmiersprachen kommen C und Java zum Einsatz.

Universität Bayreuth -